Yes, It is my IP, my VPS's IP address, that has been blacklisted. That's what I meant to say, anyway.
Orange's bounce said
"Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
xx@xx.wanadoo.co.uk
SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host mail-in.freeserve.com [193.252.22.184]: 554 5.7.1 service refused.
Client host <my VPS IP address> blocked for spamming issues. More information
available at
http://help.orange.c
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
Return-path: <dave@my_vps.co.uk>
Received: from [212.183.140.17] (helo=Inbox)
by vps.my_vps.co.uk with esmtps (SSLv3:RC4-MD5:12

(Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <dave@my_vps.co.uk>)
id 1NjaiV-0002ca-Lt; Mon, 22 Feb 2010 16:01:04 +0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
content-class:
From: Me <dave@my_vps.co.uk>
Subject: FW: Problem sending emails
Date: Mon, 22 Feb 2010 16:01:00 +0000
Importance: normal
X-Priority: 3
To: Recpient <xx@xx.wanadoo.co.uk>
"
Unsurprisingly I could not get help from the mal-formed orange URL.
I checked on the CBL blacklist and my VPS IP was on there.
I did some more digging and found the rogue files (cgi files), so removed them and killed the cgi processes. I have changed the password of the account used to gain access to my server too.
I don't need FTP access for all my user accounts. In CPanel I can't remove all of an account's FTP users. How can I limit FTP access to an account? I have prevented the use of anonymous FTP.
Also, is it possible to force all users to use FTP over SSL? As the password used to gain access was 9 chars long and comprised upper and lower case letters and numbers then it seems unlikely that it was cracked through brute force (there being over 210 trillion combinations), so I assume the password was picked up when going through the internet as clear text.
Thanks
Dave.