What is Meant by HTML 5 Standard

What is Meant by HTML 5 Standard

HTML stands for Hyper Text markup language and it is used to create web pages with different functionality. From its different versions HTML5 is a markup language developed for structuring and presenting content for the World Wide Web and a core technology of the Internet.

HTML 5 supports all the leading browsers Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer. It is the fifth revision of the HTML standard by W3C Candidate Recommendation.

The main features of HTML5 is to improve the language with support for the latest multimedia while keeping it easily readable by humans and consistently understood by computers and devices (web browsers, parsers, etc.). HTML5 is intended to include not only HTML 4, but also XHTML 1 and DOM Level 2 HTML.

HTML5 means different things to different people. For some, it just means new labels like <header> and <footer> and a handful of new attributes available in markup.

For others, it means everything is new and interesting on the Web, including technologies applied in just a browser or other specifications not officially part of HTML5. The be sure to understand the true meaning of HTML5 is often the first roadblock that many of us face.

If We consider the definition of HTML5 according to W3C then HTML 5 is a new standard for HTML with certain rules which are as follows,

  • New features should be based on HTML, CSS, DOM, and JavaScript
  • Reduce the need for external plugins (like Flash)
  • Better error handling
  • More markup to replace scripting
  • HTML5 should be device independent
  • The development process should be visible to the public

HTML5 is the newest version of the Hypertext Markup Language (code you program web sites), and change the paradigms of web development and design that had to enter as labels remarkable tools that allow the publication of audio files and supports various video codecs, tags for users to draw 2D and 3D content and changes in the forms filled, and a semantic web much better utilized.

HTML5 is a generic term to describe a new set of HTML specifications, CSS and Javascript designed to allow web developers to build the next generation of applications and interactive Web sites.

What is striking in this definition are its three parts: HTML, CSS and Javascript. They define how developers use markup enhanced with richer style capabilities and new JavaScript APIs to make the most of the new features of Web development. Simply put, HTML5 = HTML + CSS + JavaScript.

HTML 5 websites are really good and it is really easy to build a website with it. HTML5 consists of more than 100 specifications that relate to the next generation of Web technologies.

Putting all more than 100 specifications of HTML5, one could argue that the W3C oversimplified things.

If you are in the position of needing HTTPS to improve the security of your websites and wish to purchase an SSL certificate, take a look at our SSL Certificate page.