X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Configuring a server without using cpanel

Hi,

I've just signed up for a dedicated Linux server with eukhost and thought it might be fun to post about my experience of setting it up in the hope that it may help others in the future and those more experienced might cast their wisdom over it.

A bit about me; I'm a software developer of 20 years experience, almost all Windows based C++ - tho I do a small amount of cross-platform development (Redhat/Montavista/Windows) these days. First and only experience of installing/configuring Linux was back in 1998/9 with an Intel 486 and Kernels 2.0/2.2.. just basic installation on a home PC (no email, webserver) but did have to recompile the kernel (can't remember the reason - it was a long-time ago!)

This morning I received the welcome email... lots of information to digest.. and a few thoughts of what have I let myself in for

After reading the email the first step is to try and log in.

Don't try and telnet the Primary IP Address it doesn't work.. (on windows) you need to use something like WinSCP. After entering your username/password and Primary IP Address you can connect and browse the directories on your server.. and if your keen open a terminal (command prompt) too.

Now back to the email...

1) Hostname:
    Hostname is the name of your Dedicated Server and should point to your server's Main IP. It should be FQDN (Fully Qualified Domain Name) like server. or ns., which should be hosted on your Dedicated Server.
    Please also change the hostname of the server once you are logged in.
    So how to do this? Well googling threw up a very easy to follow set of instructions;

If you want to change your server hostname you have to make changes in following file.
    1) /etc/hosts
    your server IP address serverfullname (like server.domainname ) shortname (server)
    for example
    91.186.30.32 server.eukhost.com servr
    2) /etc/sysconfig/network