Why would I want to "share" hosting?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why would I want to "share" hosting?

I am really new to operating a website. I am considering purchasing a website that is currently in operation. I was told that I would need to find hosting for it. What is "shared" hosting, as compared to other hosting?

Re: Why would I want to "share" hosting?

Unlike VPS and Dedicated servers, shared hosting is shared by a number of users.
    These packages have no dedicated resources, the RAM disk space, speed etc is shared by all the accounts sitting on this shared server.

If your website is small a shared package is worth, howbeit if the website is heavy or to host multiple websites a VPS or dedicated server is worth looking at.

Bud

Comment

Originally posted by Bud View Post
      Unlike VPS and Dedicated servers, shared hosting is shared by a number of users.
      These packages have no dedicated resources, the RAM disk space, speed etc is shared by all the accounts sitting on this shared server.

If your website is small a shared package is worth, howbeit if the website is heavy or to host multiple websites a VPS or dedicated server is worth looking at.

Bud
      Great! That makes a lot of sense. Thanks for clarifying. I suppose if you are just starting a website you can try using shared hosting until you think you need more space. Or until the others get mad at you for using more than your fair share.

Comment

Originally posted by Spidey View Post
        Great! That makes a lot of sense. Thanks for clarifying. I suppose if you are just starting a website you can try using shared hosting until you think you need more space. Or until the others get mad at you for using more than your fair share.
        Yes, good to know that you atleast know how shared platform works; so you won't violate the shared environment norms :P

Comment