Just a brainstorm

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just a brainstorm

My background is that I emigrated to a new country a couple of years ago and took a relatively low-paid (but very time-consuming) job as a teaching assistant. Whilst it's OK, I don't want to do training to go further into teaching - it's not really my vocation. Also, I'm 40 now, and can't see myself being an assistant for the next 25 years either. Being in a foreign country and not speaking the language (yet) limits what kind of other jobs I can do, and there is 14% local unemployment anyway. I feel stuck and vulnerable.

So to earn extra money in the evening and weekends, and to perhaps have something else to fall back on, I'm trying to work towards providing some sort of service on the internet. For the last couple of years in the evenings I've been looking at and learning about various CMS systems - e107, joomla, drupal, expression engine, etc - building two school websites along the way. I've now recently got a VPS to play with too.

Over the next year or two, I'm going to do three or four small, cheap 'I'm still studying how to do this' websites for people I know, including trying to take online payments, and learning a bit more about WHM/cpanel hosting. I really need to start to learn php and css properly, and some flash. At that point, I think I'll have the basic skills necessary to actually have a go at making some extra money.