How to optimize your code

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to optimize your code

I am a PHP Developer and i am working on this technology from last 4 yrs. I have worked on problems regarding the performance of the site. Many clients came to me with the same issue. As a PHP developer i would like to share my knowledge with all of you.

As all of us have the question in our mind that 'How to improve the site performance and page loading time?'.

With my experiance i would like to categorised the optimization in following categories
    1. Code optimization.
    2. Query optimization.
    3. DB optimization.

All are may aware of 'Query Optimization' and 'DB Optimization' now lets disscuss about 'Code Optimization'.

What is Code Optimization : This is really intresting while you are developing any site.
    The code optimization inclues how do you write the code. We have a bad habbit to write code without having any idea of site performance, We do add lots of looping conditions which we can reduce, The looping conditions also takes lots of time to load the page.

e.g Say i have to show records from two tables customer_master, customer_details. Some people do fetch all the records from customer_master table and in while fetching the rows they will fired the second query in loop to get the details from custoer_details table. If we have 100 records in both the tables then it will first execute one query to get records from customer_table and in loop it will execute 100 queries to get records from customer_details table.

Now lets see the following code snippet to get an idea of what i want to explain.

<?php
    $sql = “select * from customer_master”; // query to recirds from customer_master table
    $res = mysql_query($sql);
    while($row = mysql_fetch_array($res))
    {
    $sqlDetails = “select * from customer_details where cust_id = '”.$row[“cust_id”].”'”; // query to get customer details from custoer_details table